The Longest Chat With Ruan Scheepers

on
DSC_6933.jpg
Photo Credits: Kesh Pundit

Being a blogger isn’t an easy task. You must have the drive, love, passion and time to become a successful blogger. This, is what my very next guest has that makes him so great at what he does. Not only is he a blogger but he is a vlogger to! Added to his list of successes Ruan made it to the finale on SABC 3’s – The Longest Date and currently is the new presenter on kykNet Channel 144’s – The Big Brand TV Show. I caught up with him and we discussed life, love and his new show.


 

  1. Who is Ruan Scheepers?

A Lifestyle Blogger & Vlogger Ruan who keeps his finger on the pulse of what’s hip and happening in and around South Africa. I am a familiar face and voice and it is difficult to miss me in and around the City of Durban especially in the blogging and entertainment world, having covered some of the most amazing and prestigious events and premiers.

 

  1. Talk to me about your childhood, what was it like and what did you learn from it?

In my younger days before cellphones I can honestly say I was one of the lucky ones with the best childhood ever. Always camping with friends and family making so many memories I will cherish for a lifetime. What I learnt from my childhood days were to live your life to the fullest and not to let anyone tell you otherwise.

 

  1. Tell me all about your family.

What can I say I have the best family who supports me in everything I do just like most families do! Family is everything to me as they are your rock and foundation you stand on at all times.

 

  1. Why did you begin blogging and what are your vlogs about?

Growing up in the media industry with a lot of friends in media and TV they inspired me to do it full-time and so I started blogging and vlogging with my main focus on local talent in the form of bands, musicians, artists and celebrities.

 

  1. The Longest Date. I’ve watched your journey, for people that don’t know what this is, elaborate and tell me what was your experience like and what major lessons did you learn from the show?

The Longest Date is a reality TV show that brings 16 contestants together and pair them up into 8 couples to battle it out for R100 000. While some pairs were perfect, a few mismatches were thrown in for mischief. The show was filmed in Mpumalanga and we had to take part in some grueling and dangerous challenges in the form of adventure sports.

  1. What’s happening between you and Joedy currently and what traits do you see in him that you would want in a soul mate?

Lol, well if you watched the last episode you would have seen we are not together.

 

  1. Talk to me about the new show you presenting.

So I am the brand new presenter for kykNet Channel 144 The Big Brand TV Show which will air every Wednesday and Friday 20h57 where I will be giving away R6000 cash on every show. A total of R2 million needs to be won. All you have to do to enter to be a winner on my show is buy your latest Huisgenoot, You or Drum Magazine and SMS your Magazine title, name and e-mail address to 34551. Who knows you might be a winner.

 

  1. What was your experience of coming out as Gay to your parents and friends. What advise will you give to gay guys that want to tell their parents?

Coming out was actually very easy, although in my mind the thought of it was scary but I honestly believe your family knows deep down inside and no matter what they will love and support you, just like my family did. My advice would be to open up and be honest with them I mean they are your family after all. But do it in your own time, don’t let anyone force you. You will know, when the time is right, follow your heart. And remember you will be blown away with the amount of support you will get.

 

  1. Who is your role model and why?

I don’t really think I have a role model, because I like to look at myself as my own unique person on an epic amazing journey. I have learnt to be who I want to be and by doing so it has blessed my life in so many ways.

 

  1. Your message to all your supporters?

My message would be to always be yourself, stay true to the person you are. Never give up on your dreams, it might feel like you are wasting your time, but just give it some time and you will be surprised once the blessings start coming your way. #BEYOU

 

30 Seconds With Ruan

 

  1. Your favourite colour? – Black
  2. Most favourite challenge on #TLD – Mountain biking
  3. Mum prepares the best everyday food
  4. Love is LOVE
  5. If I had to change my name, it would be – I would never change my name.

 

Ruan is definitely doing himself proud as well as those around him. The Bokem Legacy team wishes you all the best!

Together Breaking Limits

Leave a comment