Glitter, Spice & All Things Nice With Aaliyah Chaboo

IMG-20190308-WA0055

She’s Fire and Ice & Miss Chaboo is on a mission to make a change all in the process of achieving her dreams. I’ve had many chats with Aaliyah and everyone was inspirational, funny and on point. This time however I had to get her away from her super busy schedule just to share with you her success story. She’s a fimiliar face on 2018’s Local box Office hit Broken Promises 4-Ever and recently she was crowned Zee Tv’s Miss India Gauteng 2nd Princess. She is beauty personified and a women to be recokned with.  So in celebration of The Bokem Legacy’s 5 Anniversay, here goes our first interview with actress, model and business women – Aaliyah Chaboo

 

Who is Aaliyah Chaboo?

Aaliyah is a young, vibrant, energetic and outgoing individual. I am constantly working on ways to build myself up. I am currently The Young Independents 2018 Top 100 Trailblazers in South Africa. I also love taking time out of my busy schedules to relax and spend time with my loved ones.2.

 

What was Aaliyah as a child?

As a child I was living my life as what some people would say ‘a spoilt young kid’. Truth is my parents never denied me of my childhood and always made sure I lived it in the best way a child knows how. 

 

Name me one childhood memory that has taught you the biggest lesson.

Never run around without guards.. just kidding. 
But even though that might have seemed as a joke, the lesson that I was thought since childhood that I should always keep my guard up, remain strong and carry on. 

 

Lets talk about your passion for acting, when it began and your role in Broken Promises 4-Ever.

So this has always been a funny story for me. I never imagined getting into acting, I was the indian woman who assumed I was just gonna study and get a 9-5 job. My career in the acting industry began when I uploaded a crazy video my mother had taken of me while I was dancing and washing dishes (yes chores at home is still an everyday thing even for me) … so that is when my passion for acting began, I got to let out a creative side…

My role in Broken Promises 4-ever, wow, so I played the younger sister to the main character. My character was definitely something because it allowed me to step out of my comfort zone and i really enjoyed being a rebel woman. Mikayla was your typical younger sibling, which I’m sure most siblings could relate to.

 

Apart from acting and all things pretty, you own successful business, enlighten us more about this.

I’m a co-owner to a business called R&A Promotional Solutions. I work alongside my mother. We do T-shirts, Golfers, Caps and promotional items. This includes printing, branding and embroidery. You will soon find us on social media platforms.

 

Recently you as crowned 2nd in the Zee Tv Miss India Gauteng Pageant, talk to be about your experience and everything you involved with currently.

Being crowned the Zee Tv Miss India Gauteng 2nd Princess was truly such an honor for me. The experience was truly amazing because I got to meet and network with some incredible woman here in South Africa. This platform also allowed for me to not just showcase my talents but to also show who I am and what I can do as well as give back to my community. 

I am currently involved with a lot of Charity drives and also work with a lot of NPOs. Even though I have been given the title for Gauteng, I also involve myself with alot of events in Durban as well. Why? Because Durban is home and is where I’m originally from. 

 

Could you let us in on any future plans?

A lot of people have asked me about my future plans. I always say, “work in silence and respond with results”.

 

Lets shed some light on teenage pregnancy abit. This is definitely on a rise due to many factors. What is your opinion about this and how could you as a young lady yourself help with this situation?

So during my High School time, I have witnessed a lot of ladies that fell pregnant. I don’t think a teenager would listen when we say to abstain from any sexual activities, but we can teach them about ‘safe sex’. This can perhaps reduce teenage pregnancy. 
But we also need to educate the teenagers about teenage pregnancy and realizing that they would need to care for another life and not just themselves. We need to make them realise that having a child means you having some sort of stability ( financially ) because a child is high maintenance. Teenagers should focus on building themselves up and worry about their future. 

Being in my youth, I can find myself relating to many young individuals. I can try and put myself in their shoes which will allow me to speak to them without having to be embarrassed or ashamed of it. 

 

If you had to address every lady in SA, what will be your words of encouragement to them?

“A woman is like a tea bag – you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water.”
– Eleanor Roosevelt

 

Your message to your fans, those that love you and those that find you as an inspiration.

To my fans, thank you so much for all the love and support.

To my loved ones, I am where I am because you’ll pushed me and supported me through it all.

To those who look up to me as an inspiration, I may not be perfect but trust in me when I say that nothing will ever be impossible and I will always be here to inspire you.

 

 

Lights, Spice And Glam With Chaboo

 Black or Red?

I love both black and red, but blue will always be my favourite.

Lipstick or Heels?

No outfit is complete without a good pair of heels and great lipstick.

Bungee jumping or Deep Sea Diving?

I haven’t tried either, but this year I told myself I want to go bungee jumping (that’s definitely on my bucket list)

One thing you love about your mum?

If I told you that I love only one thing about my mom, it would be a lie. I love everything about my mom. She is my best friend, my mom, my light, my heaven on Earth. 

One thing you dislike about your phone.

 That I can’t switch it off due to important emails and calls. 
So it seems that dynamite does come in small packages and Aaliyah is sure to be seen more as she embarks on projects that are going to help, inspire and motivate those around her. She surely goes by The Bokem Legcay’s Motto – Together Breaking Limits & we wish her all the best in her future plans.

Remeber as we celebrate 5 years of inspirational writing, we would like your comments and views on Teenage Preganacy. Drop us a comment below. Looking forward to hearing from you.

The Bokem Legacy – Together Breaking Limits

 

Leave a comment