Profiling Young South Africans -Gresham Madhan

image

Entering competitions isn’t as easy as it seems. It takes a lot of creative thinking, excellent writing skills and using the “Think Out Of The Box” technique.
I managed to catch up with competitions winner – Gresham Madhan. Check Our Interview Below.

  • At what age did you realise your passion for creative writing?

    My passion for creative writing kicked in during high school. My favourite subject was English and I would often compete with my classmates as to who could produce the best essays and creative pieces. The more I challenged myself, the more I fell in love with descriptive writing. Words simply captivate me.

  • What are you currently studying?

    Journalism and Media Studies.

  • What’s your ultimate aim once you’ve qualified as a Journalist?

    A post at a high profile publication would be ideal.

  • Recently you won R50000 worth of Samsung appliances when your recipe was chosen in the Expresso competition. Take me back to the entire experience.

    The public was encouraged by Samsung South Africa and The Espresso Show to enter their family favourite and original recipe into the #ForTheLoveOfFood competition. There would be a total of 6 winners in 6 different categories and each winner could choose R50 000 worth of Samsung products of their liking. My Exotic Braaied Snoek recipe was shortlisted in the Seafood category and a few days later I was told that celebrity chef and head judge in the competition, Reuben Riffel loved my recipe after preparing it for his family and friends and selected it as one of the winners. The dish was then prepared on The Espresso show on SABC3 and a few weeks later I was flown to Johannesburg to receive an award for this recipe. When I got back home, it was time for some serious shopping as I went in to select my Samsung products.

  • How do you come to know of certain competitions?

    Social media, magazines, newspapers, television and friends.

  • Was there any competition you entered and you didn’t win, that you wished you could have?

    Too many to mention. That’s why I handle disappointment so well.

  • Your design for the limited edition Hunters Cans was chosen and you were flown to Cape Town. What was your design about and talk to me about your trip to Cape Town.

    Hunters ran a promotion asking the public what drinking a can of their cider felt like. I said that ‘It feels like having my own personal igloo in the blazing heat’ They chose my description as the runner up position of the competition. I then flew to Cape Town for a commercial and photo shoot with Hunters for their website. They then got in an artist to work with me to produce an image of my competition suggestion and we created a real piece of art which is now available on Hunters cans around the country

  • What is the one thing you think that makes your entries for competitions stand out?

    We have to keep in mind that hundreds for people enter competitions everyday. In order for my entry to stand out, I have to be creative, unique and constantly have to think out the box.

  • Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

    Since writing is my passion, I’ll have to say that I’d like to see myself as an Editor.

  • Your words for those that support you during your competitions?

    You can’t go far in life without having the support of those around you. I’m always grateful for all the support and encouragement that I receive…

  • *COMPETITION*

    Answer the question below in the comments section and stand a chance to win a beauty pack.

    QUESTION: What Is Gresham Currently Studying?

  • Competition runs from 01 October – Midnight 04 October 2015
  • T&C’s APPLY!

    The Beauty Pack Comprises Of The Following Items:
    1.Far Away Bella Sunset body lotion
    2.MAC Lip gloss
    3.Kiehls Hydro- Plumping Serum
    4.Midnight Recovery Concentrate
    5.Vanilla lip balm
    6.A beauty magazine

    *GOODLUCK*

    35 Comments Add yours

    1. Gresham is studying Journalism and Media Studies

    2. Omayya Omar says:

      Journalism and media studies

    3. geraldine says:

      Gresham is studying Journalism and Media Studies #fingerscrossed

    4. Yugeshnee says:

      Gresham Madhan is studying Journalism and Media Studies……………great interview Gresham πŸ™‚

    5. Shanal Hansraj says:

      Journalism and media studies

    6. Anita Maharaj says:

      Gresham is studying Journalism & Media Studies. Well done Gresham on your Hunters design.

    7. Priscilla Boscombe says:

      Media Studies and Journalism

    8. Jenny Iswarlall says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    9. jennifer sukhdeo says:

      Gresham is currently studying Journalism and Media Studies which really compliments his passion for Creative writing and design skills.

    10. Lorraine Williamson says:

      Gresham Madhan is currently studying Journalism and Media Studies

    11. Journalism and Media studies

    12. Verusha says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    13. ayanda millicent says:

      Gresham is currently studying Journalism and Media Studies

    14. zayne khan says:

      Jounalism and Media studies

    15. kristibeitz says:

      Gresham studies journalism and media studies (the same thing I studied!).

      PS: I’ve had a few interactions with him on social media and he really is such a good person. He doesn’t step on others to win things and always supports others.

      Also, I would LOVE to win this prize pack!

    16. kristibeitz says:

      Gresham studies journalism and media studies (same thing I studied!).

      PS: He really is such a good person. I’ve had a few interactions with him on social media and he really is one of those that will never step on someone else to win and always supports others.

      I would absolutely LOVE to win this amazing prize pack!

    17. Neshi says:

      Journalism an media studies

    18. Neshi says:

      Journalism n media studies

    19. trenesh harilal says:

      Journalism and media studies

    20. Shaista Goolam says:

      Journalism and Media Studies!

    21. Prebashnee Govender says:

      Journalism and Media Studies.

    22. atisha says:

      Greshan is studying journalism and media studies

    23. Varsha Hira says:

      Journalism and Media Studies.

    24. stacey govender says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    25. selena bhirjlal says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    26. Kerisha Perumal says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    27. maggie ramdhani says:

      Journalism and Media studies

    28. Oveshnie Pillay says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    29. selina naidoo says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    30. farzana yacob says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    31. kerusha persadh says:

      Journalism and Media Studies.

    32. Juariah says:

      Journalism & Media Studies

    33. Timera says:

      Journalism and Media Studies.

    34. Tracy says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    35. Candice says:

      Journalism and Media Studies

    Leave a Reply

    